The Voices chat line is accessible to anyone with internet connection and has multiple safety precautions in place. All chats are end-to-end encrypted, conversations stay in chat boxes only, messages disappear if you close the browser, and messages are NOT saved or recorded– they have a time limit before expiring. There is also a Quick Escape button that will bring you to another webpage. If you click the “back” button on your browser after using Quick Escape, you will return to an empty chat box. If you are worried about someone monitoring your web visits, you could open a browser using something like Google Chrome’s incognito mode (every browser should have a similar option), which hides your browsing history.
Please be aware that chats may not be protected if spyware is installed on your device(s). If you have reason to believe that someone could be monitoring your activity on a computer, phone, or tablet, you might want to find another device to chat with us– or call our free, confidential, 24/7 hotline for immediate support.